UPDATE: Tryout Information for Fall 2020 Sports

UPDATE (08/25/20): Since our last communication, our state association, the CIAC, and the CT Department of Health have worked together to update our start dates and procedures for the fall. Below are the latest dates.

Per the guidance released by our state association, the Connecticut Interscholastic Athletic Conference (CIAC), Fairfield Prep will offer football, cross country, crew and soccer this fall. You can read the CIAC Guidelines here.

FALL TRYOUT SCHEDULE

  • Freshman, JV and Varsity Football will have conditioning sessions on Aug. 26 and 27. All candidates should report to Barlow Field at 3 p.m.
     
  • Varsity, JV and Freshman Soccer will begin on Aug. 29. Sophomores-Seniors will practice on Rafferty Stadium from 2:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. Freshmen will practice from 4 p.m.-5:30 p.m.
      
  • Freshman (only) candidates interested in Cross Country should report to the Lessing Field Track on Aug. 31 at 3 p.m. Sophomores (only) will start on Sept. 1. Juniors and Seniors (only) will start onSept. 2. All practice sessions will take place on the Lessing Field Track from 3 - 4 p.m. The full team will gather on Sept. 3, from 3 - 4 p.m.
     
  • Crew will begin on Sept. 8. All candidates should report to the Prep Erg Room in the Arrupe Basement at 3 p.m.

For a full tryout schedule, please visit JESUITpride.com

All teams will follow a week-by-week progression of guidelines where we will create small groups of cohorts within our teams. We will work to recondition our athletes and increase the length of practices and the amount of skill work each week as we work toward our first competition dates. When competition begins, Prep teams will compete against other schools in our nearby region.

All students participating must submit a sports physical to our school nurse Mary Ellen Lehmann (mlehmann@fairfieldprep.org) before attending any of our tryouts and also must register for their sport here

Please refer any questions regarding overall athletic protocols to Athletic Director Tom Curran (tcurran@fairfieldprep.org

For any sport specific question please contact our fall coaches:

Crew: Ed Feldheim (efeldheim@fairfieldprep.org)

Football: Keith Hellstern (khellstern@fairfieldprep.org)

Freshman Football: Kevin Kery (kkery@fairfieldprep.org)

Soccer: Brian Neumeyer (bneumeyer@fairfieldprep.org)

Cross Country: Jayne Penn (jpenn@fairfieldprep.org)

Thank you for your cooperation and please utilize JESUITpride.com for all athletics news and announcements.

Tom Curran
Director of Athletics

tcurran@fairfieldprep.org
203-254-4200 Ext. 2210

  • Homepage news
  • reopening