Custom Class: header-breadcrumb

Prep athletic legends inducted into Athletic Hall of Fame
On May 31, 2019, Fairfield Prep welcomed five individuals and one championship team into the school's Athletic Hall of Fame in a ceremony before more than 250 people in the Quad.
The 2019 class of inductees include Emil Garofalo '45, Charles Berke '70, Mike Sprouse '92, Ted Drury '80, Coach Joe Brosley and the 1969 State Championship Basketball team. Garofalo, Berke, Sprouse and members of the 1969 basketball team, with Jim Fitzsimmons '69 leading the group, all gave heartfelt acceptance speeches that brought cheers from family, friends and alumni gathered for the occasion. (View the videos of the acceptance speeches below).
Hockey player Anthony Clericuzio '19 accepted the award on behalf of Drury, who was not present at the ceremony. Coach Joe Brosley, who passed away in 1987, was posthumously inducted into the Hall of Fame and also received a round of applause.
The inductees join the ranks of Fairfield Prep's athletic legends, including previous inductees Bob Skoronski '51, Paul Halas '74 and the 1960 State Championship Football Team.

Emil Garofalo '45


Coach Joe Brosley

Chuck Berke '70

Ted Drury '89

Mike Sprouse '92

1969 State Championship Basketball Team

About the Athletic Hall of Fame
The Fairfield Prep Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 2017 to honor those alumni who achieved excellence and distinguished themselves in Fairfield Prep’s athletic programs while also living Prep’s mission throughout their lives as “Men for Others.” The inductees were selected through a nomination process by the Athletic Hall of Fame Committee.
  • Alumni News
  • Homepage news