Prep Players

Moderator: Mrs. Megan Hoover,

Prep Players produces two full scale theatrical productions each year at the Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts. In the fall, we focus on a straight play which is presented in November in the Wien Experimental Theatre, a flexible black box theatre which seats 120. Auditions for the fall show are held in early September. In the spring, we produce a musical which is performed in the Kelley Theatre, an 800 seat proscenium house. The musical is presented in May, with auditions held in January/February.

Students can get involved by auditioning for a production or by working on the various technical elements of the show. Rehearsals are generally Monday through Thursday from 3:30 - 5:30 in B301.

There are also opportunities to participate in acting workshops, travel to New York to see shows, and work on improvisation.

Contact Mrs. Hoover in B301 for more information. 203-254-4200 x.2263

Our recent production history includes:

  • Into the Woods
  • The Story Pirates Project
  • Carousel
  • Our Town
  • The Laramie Project
  • The Drowsy Chaperone
  • Dead Man Walking
  • A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum 
  • The Diviners 
  • Guys and Dolls
  • 43 Plays for 43 Presidents
  • Lucky Stiff
  • Joseph & the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat 
  • An Evening of Shorts 
  • Damn Yankees 
  • The Complete Works of Shakespeare Abridged 
  • Kiss Me, Kate 
  • The Love of Three Oranges 
  • Spamalot 
  • Clockwork. Well, Satire, Too.

Prep Players perform Into the Woods! Earn Halo Award nominations!

WATCH Prep YouTube Highlights!


The Prep Players presented the Broadway musical Into the Woods on May 11 and 12, 2017, featuring the music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim. In this show, all the fairy tale characters everyone knows so well set off on a journey to get their greatest wish. What they learn, though, is that wishes have consequences and life after "ever after" isn't always happy. The show followed this year’s theme of telling stories as an ensemble, which the Prep Players started with the Story Pirates Project in the fall. 

Director Megan Hoover complimented the actors' and musicians' talents, which earned Halo Award nominations: "The Prep Players was recognized by Seven Angels Theatre with six Halo nominations for The Story Pirates Project and Into the Woods, which are a testament to how hard this group worked this year...I hope you will join me in congratulating them on this amazing achievement."

The cast included Fairfield Prep students and young women from area high schools. The music director was Christine Evans, who led a professional orchestral pit with the memorable music classics.

Halo Award Nominations:


Taylor McCuaig as Little Red Riding Hood in Into The Woods


Audrey Burns as The Witch in Into The Woods


Fairfield College Preparatory School: Into The Woods


Fairfield College Preparatory School: The Story Pirates Project


Teddy Whiteman in The Story Pirates Project


Fairfield College Preparatory School: The Story Pirates Project

Players revive Our Town with sold-out performances!


The Prep Players performed Our Town, a 1938 Pulitzer Prize winning play by American playwright Thornton Wilder. It tells the story of the fictional American small town of Grover's Corners between 1901 and 1913 through the everyday lives of its citizens. The stage manager of the theatre, Jackson Mendes '16, narrates the show's three acts depicting "Daily Life," "Love and Marriage," and "Death and Dying." The play is performed without a set and with minimal props, and the actors mime their actions. "Bravo" to the talented ensemble for an emotive performance!

The production ran on November 12 and 13 in the Weir Experimental Theater at the Regina A. Quick Center for the Performing Arts. The show was directed by Mrs. Megan Hoover, Fine Arts Chair. Watch Prep YouTube highlights!

The Cast

The Stage Manager – Jackson Mendes '16
Emily Webb –Katie Rooney
Mrs. Myrtle Webb – Jennifer Veith
Mr. Charles Webb – Liam Traynor '16
Wally Webb – Teddy Whiteman '18
George Gibbs – Brendan Sawyer '17
Mrs. Julia Gibbs – Annamarie Fama
Dr. Frank Gibbs – Ryan Ramos '16
Rebecca Gibbs – Mia Pollack
Mrs. Louella Soames – Olivia DeFilippo
Simon Stimson – Francis Ohe '19
Joe Crowell, Jr. – Freddy Rio '17
Howie Newsome – Niko Lignore '16
Professor Willard – George Seyfried '18
Constable Warren – Matt Didelot '16
Si Crowell – Alexander McMullen '18
Baseball Player – Eciaus Booth '19
Sam Craig – Junlin Mo '17
Joe Stoddard – Al Kelly '17
Mr. Carter – Michael Ornato '17
Farmer McCarty – Mike Kubisek '16

Past Years

Prep Players win Halo Award second year in a row!

On May 27, the Prep Players attended the Halo Awards at the Palace Theatre in Hartford, and received the award for Best Acting by an Ensemble Cast for The Laramie Project. Fine Arts Chair and Director Megan Hoover commented, "This is the second year that we have won the award in this category, which is a true testament to the way in which the students in this program connect to one another and support each other on stage." The Laramie cast included: Aidan Foley, Al Kelly, Annamarie Fama, Brendan Reed, Devon Valera, Dimitri Kousidis, Elizabeth Martinez, Ivy Tebbetts, Jackson Mendes, Katie Rooney, Kelvin Alvarez, Liam Traynor, Matt Didelot, Michael Kokias, Niko Lignore, Serginho Valcourt and Victor Riccio.

The Prep Players were recognized with several Halo Award nominations this year. Mrs. Hoover praised the players: "Please help me to congratulate the casts of both our musical and our fall play on this incredible accomplishment."

Nominations received:

  • Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Musical: Dimitri Kousidis '15 as Man in Chair in The Drowsy Chaperone
  • Best Comic Female Performance in a Musical: Annamarie Fama as Kitty in The Drowsy Chaperone Fairfield Prep
  • Best Contemporary Play: Fairfield Prep - The Laramie Project
  • Best Acting by a Cast in an Ensemble Production: Fairfield Prep - The Laramie Project
  • Best Standout Performance(s) in an Ensemble Production: Fairfield Prep - Elizabeth Martinez in The Laramie Project 

At the awards event, Michael Kokias and Victor Riccio represented the group with a performance of their tap number from The Drowsy Chaperone. Watch Prep You Tube!

In 2012, The Connecticut High School Theater Awards recognized our production of Kiss Me, Kate has been acknowledged in four categories:

Juwan Crawley '12 for Features Performer - Juwan was recognized at the awards ceremony with a win in this category.
Ms. Christine Dominguez for Student Orchestra Kyle Banquer '12 for Outstanding Ensemble Member Tommy Dolan '12 and Eric Hoffman '12 for Ensemble Group

To see more of this energetic and esteemed production, click here:

In 2014, The Halo Awards, presented by Seven Angels Theatre in Waterbury, recognized our amazing season with seven nominations.

Alex Decouteau as John Jasper in The Mystery of Edwin Drood for Leading Actor in a Musical Laura Carron as Rosa Bud in The Mystery of Edwin Drood for Leading Actress in a Musical - Laura was recognized at the awards with a win in this category.
The Mystery of Edwin Drood for Best Student Orchestra The Mystery of Edwin Drood for Best Chorus The Mystery of Edwin Drood for the Fearless Award (musical) Dimitri Kousidis for the Gypsy of the Year in recognition of his contributions to the ensemble Clockwork. Well, Satire, Too. for Best Play Clockwork. Well, Satire, Too. for the Fearless Award (play) Clockwork. Well, Satire, Too. for Best Ensemble Cast - The cast was recognized at the awards with a win in this category.

To see more of the award winning cast of Clockwork. Well, Satire, Too

Fairfield Prep
1073 North Benson Road
Fairfield CT, 06824
P 203.254.4200   F 203.254.4108
Follow Us
or visit our
for a snapshot of our recent activity
powered by finalsite